Gideon Smith and the Mask of the Ripper – first reviews

Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 13.10.05 MaskRipperTor

Hello, so we’re in publication week for Gideon Smith and the Mask of the Ripper, the third book in the Gideon Smith series from Tor Books (US) and Snowbooks (UK). Let’s have a look at some early reviews! Extracts below, click for full review. And click here for where to buy.

The third installment of Barnett’s lively Victorian pulp/steampunk adventure series…Barnett creates some provocative and genuinely dark moments, and an intriguing cliffhanger sets up his next book. Fans of pulp adventure and steampunk settings will enjoy this strong series. – Publishers Weekly

With a diverse cast of characters and delightfully despicable villains, I found Barnett’s writing to be honest, compelling and clever. I am completely invested in the Gideon Smith series. Mr. Barnett, you’ve made me a fan. – Pop Kernal

This is the third of David Barnett’s marvellous steampunk novels chronicling the real-life penny-dreadful adventures of Gideon Smith, Hero of the Empire…It all makes for a busy book, but one that’s as much fun as a ride on the brass dragon. – Toronto Star/Hamilton Spectator

Perfect for fans of Mark Hodder’s “Burton & Swinburne” adventures. – Library Journal

“Fresh and exciting” – Don DaMassa

Advertisements

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s