100 days of Gideon Smith

20130720-150015.jpg20130225-224610.jpgToday marks 100 days since the publication of Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl by Tor Books in the US and Snowbooks in the UK.

I had no real idea what to expect when the book was published. I’ve had other novels out through independent presses, of course, but this was the first release through big, mainstream, commercial publishers.

I tried to manage my expectations. I am an unknown writer, especially in the US, and with the huge number of books being published I was quietly preparing for Gideon Smith to simply disappear among the overwhelming flood of everything else.

To say I’ve been utterly delighted at the response would be a massive understatement.

Gideon Smith has had, by my rough estimate, about 50 positive reviews in newspapers, magazines and on websites – and that’s not counting the feedback on Goodreads and Amazon.

People have been overwhelmingly lovely about the book. Especially gratifying are the reviews or messages from people who said things like “this is the perfect book for people who think they don’t like steampunk”, “I didn’t think this was going to be my thing, but…” and “this book was so much fun!”

I’m grateful beyond words to everyone who made this book happen: my agent John Jarrold, the team at Tor – my editor Claire Eddy, Bess Cozby, Leah Withers, Patrick Nielsen Hayden, Irene Gallo and artist Nekro, to name just a handful – and also Emma Barnes at Snowbooks, who has taken on Gideon as a personal project and recently bought the rights in the next two books in the series. Also my family for their support, and friends who’ve been so pleased for this happening. Those people who didn’t know me from Adam and loved and reviewed the book, and most of all those people who went out and bought it or borrowed it from their local library. You’re all brilliant.

I was made incredibly welcome by the steampunk community at the Haworth Steampunk Weekend, and I hope to make a repeat appearance next year, along with other events and cons.

Thanks also to all the famous people I admire who have had a copy of Gideon Smith forced upon them by me or one of my mates – off the top of my head they include Neil Gaiman, Jeremy Dyson, Mitch Benn, Jonathan Ross, Cory Doctorow, Paul Cornell… probably many others. Sorry for being a self-promoting pain in the arse, and thanks for being so gracious about it.

It’s been a brilliant three months or so for Gideon Smith, and I’m looking forward to Tor and Snowbooks publishing book two, Gideon Smith and the Brass Dragon, in September 2014, with book three to follow in 2015. After that… well, there are more Gideon tales to tell, but we’ll just have to wait and see how sales are going.

And if you haven’t read Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl yet… what the hell are you waiting for? Christmas?

4 Comments

  1. Damn! I have to wait until September for book 2? Oh well, I have a while to look forward to a good read.

Leave a Reply

