Steampunks! Gideon Smith salutes you!

Me on my stall at the Haworth Steampunk Weekend
Me on my stall at the Haworth Steampunk Weekend

Had an utterly lovely time at the Haworth Steampunk Weekend on Saturday and Sunday.

It was my first steampunk event and the first author appearance I’ve done since the publication of Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl, so I was a little nervous about what kind of reception I’d get.

I’m delighted at how welcome I was made to feel, both by steampunk enthusiasts who attended the event from all over the country and local people who stopped by to chat. I signed a truck-load of books and did a talk and reading.

It was interesting to find out that a lot of people into the steampunk lifestyle aren’t necessarily fans of – or indeed aware of – the movement’s literary roots, so it was good to talk about that as well.

It was wonderful to see so many people in fantastic costumes, and Haworth was a

With my temporary helper, son Charlie
With my temporary helper, son Charlie

great setting for the event – I hope there’s going to be a second one next year, and if there is, count me in!

It was really nice to have so much interest in Gideon Smith’s adventures, and I hope everyone who bought a copy over the weekend enjoys it – do come back here and let me know how you get on with it, or contact me on twitter at @davidmbarnett.

20130720-150015.jpgFor those who were asking if Gideon Smith is available on ebook – yes it is, and click here for the link to the Amazon listing.

Thanks again for all your support.

Leave a Reply

