What they say about Gideon Smith #15: Nettie Thomson (Plus! Bonus Writing Advice!)

Very nice review from Nettie Thomson on her blog. She really enjoyed Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl, it seems, for which I’m very gratified. Here’s a sample:

I really enjoy reading Steampunk and I have reviewed one or two here on my blog. Not every author captures the essence of the alternative Victorian technology and society as well as David Barnett does in Gideon Smith and The Mechanical Girl…Barnett ends his excellent book with the set up for the sequel. I have two words to say to him about that. HURRY UP! Highly recommended.

Here’s the full review in all its glory. Including a sneaky picture of me.

Plus! Bonus content! After the review appeared Nettie asked me if I’d like to write a blog post for her. I did, and it was my advice for writers. I don’t particularly consider myself well qualified to give writing advice, but for what it’s worth, you can read it by clicking here. Warning: contains rum.

Leave a Reply

