What they say about Gideon Smith #11: London Fog’s Book Reviews

Lovely, lovely review of Gideon from the London Fog book reviews site – 4.5 stars out of a possible 5! I think Aloysius Bent’s foul mouth might have cost me the other star though…

You can read the full review here.

Blending elements of Victoriana, pulp fiction, sci-fi and mystery, Gideon Smith was a fantastically enjoyable and intricately plotted adventure set in an alternate universe London powered by gears and gadgetry…possibly one of the most imaginative renderings of a steampunk setting I’ve read to date. This would make for an excellent movie, one that I would actually spend the price of a ticket to see…I have not enjoyed a story this much in quite a while. It reminded me of a Victorian Indiana Jones (with vampires… who do not sparkle) and if this is to be continued into a series, I would read the next one without reservation.

Leave a Reply

