What they say about Gideon Smith #2: George Mann

George Mann is the author of the Newbury & Hobbes series of Victorian adventure novels, as well as the fantastic Ghosts of Manhattan. I confess I came to his work fairly late – I’d picked up The Osiris Ritual just before I started writing Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl, and had a self-imposed rule not to read within the sub-genre while I was writing, so only got around to it after I’d completed the first draft of Gideon.

George’s books are great, fast-paced and thrilling – just the sort of market I’m aiming for with Gideon, to be honest. So I was pleased when I heard George (we share a publisher in the US, Tor) was going to read Gideon and offer his thoughts.

And lo, he has. You can find out about George at his website and meanwhile, here’s what he has to say about Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl (due from Tor on May 1, 2013):

Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl is a triumph of the modern pulp genre. Funny, clever and superbly executed – Barnett writes like a dream. I guarantee you’ll have fun as you breeze through this first adventure of Gideon Smith, and I commend it to you all. I’m already anxious for the next one.

See also:

What they say about Gideon Smith #1: Jon Courtenay Grimwood

Leave a Reply

