Sabotage Times: On the Road to Kerouac’s Grave

 I’ve done a piece for the excellent Sabotage Times on a pilgrimage I made back in 1995 to Lowell, Mass., the birthplace and final resting place of Jack Kerouac.

‘The train took me out into the parched Massachusetts countryside, and deposited me in Lowell, where as soon as I stepped on to the pavements I could feel a frisson of what I can only guess is a fraction of what Kerouac’s contemporary (and first writer to get the phrase “beat generation” into print)  John Clellon Holmes meant by “beat” when he described it as “a sort of nakedness of mind and, ultimately, of soul”.

‘I’m in my mid-20s, remember. I’m full of bollocks like that.’

You can go read it here and if you like it, give it a star rating, why don’t you.

Leave a Reply

