Probably the best vampire novel in the world?

Over at the Guardian I’ve done a piece on the Horror Writers Association’s bid to name the best vampire novel of the last 100 years – this being the centenary of the death of Dracula author Bram Stoker.

I read Dracula and it fascinated more than scared me.  Same with Drac on the big or small screen. This TV adaptation of Stephen King’s ‘Salem’s Lot, though… I don’t think I’ll ever forget Danny Glick scratching at the window to be let in.

The full list of six books on the HWA’s list is here, along with some good discussion about what the HWA left off their shortlist. The winner will be announced at the World Horror Convention next month.

3 Comments

  1. I didn’t see much mention of Carrion Comfort by Dan Simmons. Yes, that version of Salem’s Lot scared the pants off me when I was a young lad. “Open the window Mark, he commands it.”

  2. I remember that scene. Creeped me out when I was young. So much so, I had to watch the movie as an adult to make sure “I could take it”–(a bit of an overreaction, perhaps). Would be interested in what they select for the best one.

  3. I’m 40 years old and still cant watch that movie without being eeked out. It’s quite a joke in my family, now. Being that I collect horror movies, it makes it quite the laugh.

Leave a Reply

